Model Remodel

I bought my house ( or started buying my house) 8 years ago when I was 26.  It is a small-ish  (less than 1300 square feet) 3 bedroom, 1 bath fixer upper.  And with all the naivety of a 26-year-old first time home buyer, I walked into this new adventure thinking first of all that I had miraculously become rich as I slept that night, and secondly that I’d have a bathroom and a kitchen remodeled within the first 3 months tops.  I’d also have a gorgeously landscaped lawn.

Here’s a grainy picture of me in front of my house the day I bought it.

1st day with house

Needless to say, the next day there was no remodeling going on.  The next year….no remodeling.  Strangely enough I hadn’t become rich overnight and there were these things called “bills” I was required to pay.  Funny how that happens.

So for the last 8 years this is the bathroom I walk into daily.

bathroom

Blue marble wall board.  It’s basically paneling made to look like marble.  Blue.  Marble.  People in the 70’s were about as delusional as I was when I got this house.

And this is my lovely matching bathtub.

IMG_1120Right.  I was too embarrassed to show a close-up of the faucet and other hardware, but it’s somewhere around 30 – 40 years old so you can close your eyes and imagine that nastiness.  You are, however, able to see the shower head that is detaching from the wall in its best attempt to end this miserable life.

Well last weekend – 8 years later! – I finally got that awful tub replaced!!  Hallelujah!!!!!!!

IMG_1124

I was so happy I took a picture of the missing tub….

IMG_1128

…as well as its ‘remains’ at my curb awaiting trash pick-up day.  RIP Ol’ Blue.

IMG_1165

Ta daaaaaa!!  This is my new, improved shower area.  Love, love, love it!!

Unfortunately the lovely blue marble wall board is still in place.  It is my next target.  *insert evil laugh here*

One thought on “Model Remodel

  1. You would be happy to know that it will not cost you much for some
    excellent home improvement ideas. Yet, this is a small job and any electrician should be
    able to finish it in less than one hour if everything is installed.
    Anyone can afford and install a peephole thanks
    to their low cost and ease of installation.

Leave a Reply

