London – Day Five

Day One
Day Two
Day Three
Day Four

I wore different shoes on day five and they started off rather comfortably.  Unfortunately, by the end of the day my feet hurt again only on a different part.  By this point I’m convinced my feet are irreparably disfigured and will never be the same again.

The day begins with a river cruise to Greenwich.  It’s Sunday and the market is supposed to be in full swing.  The morning was pretty overcast but no rain, fortunately.

Cruising the Thames under London Bridge.

The H.M.S. Belfast with the Tower Bridge in the background.

This river cruise was much, much, much better than the one I took offered by the London Eye.  Much.  The tour guide was very knowledgeable which was great, but he was also hilarious which was even better.  Loved him!

Upon arriving in Greenwich, I headed straight to the market.  This market was heralded as one of the best but it was actually quite small and didn’t have what I was looking for – old books – so I left a touch disappointed.  It has lots of crafts though and Oh, the food!!  It was the highlight of the market for me.  Food from every ethnicity you can think of.  I had some authentic pierogis and also tried some Nigerian potato stew.  Yum!!!!!!  Oh yes, and of course I got a crepe with nutella and bananas.  Almost forgot that one.

I didn’t take many pictures at the market, but here’s one as I was walking in.

After the market I hopped on the river cruise back to town.  I switched up my little itinerary yet again and decided to get off at their stop in front of the Tower of London for a tour.  The top picture on this entry is of the White Tower, located inside Tower of London.

It’s hard to be in a place or look at something and wrap your head around the fact that it’s literally almost 1,000 years old.  Not a remake…original.  It’s hard to grasp that when you read about Anne Boelyn being beheaded in history books, it was through those very grounds that she walked.  It’s not a fairy tale.  1,000 years worth of other people walked on the same stones I was walking on that day.  It’s mind-blowing when you really think about it.

This monument now stands where thousands of people were beheaded.  Including Anne Boelyn.

Inside the tower they do free tours about every 30 minutes led by Yeoman Warders or Beefeaters.  I followed one around but I didn’t get much from it.  They give you some history but it’s difficult to hear at times and me being only 5’1″ it’s also difficult to see most times.  Neither is the fault of the beefeater and it’s free so what can ya do?

This was the Beefeater who led my tour.

The Crown Jewels are also housed inside the Tower of London.  I went through but *yawn*.  I mean, how interesting can you make crowns and gold platters and such?  Just not my cup of tea, I guess.

After the Tower of London I had thought about trying to find the British Museum but it was Sunday and I knew it was probably too late being in the afternoon so I put it off once again and decided to head out to Harrod’s instead.

This was originally on my list for day one, but it just didn’t happen.  So off I go to the shopping mecca that is Harrod’s.  The place is huge, just like they say.  Any place that offers maps when you enter…yeah, it’s big.

A few things…the owner (sorry, can’t remember his name) Al-Fayed has a wax figure of himself (a la Madame Toussad’s) at one of the entrances.  Creepy.  And of course there’s the bronze statue of Diana and Dodi with a dove in another part.  Sweet but also somewhat creepy.

I went through the souvenir shop which has anything you could possibly want with Harrod’s printed on it.  Here I bought some small gifts for my girlfriends.

Next it was on to the food halls.  When you mention Harrod’s or see it mentioned, the food halls shortly follow.  Oh my.  It’s somewhat like a grocery store, somewhat like a department store, and somewhat like a gift shop with two or three small restaurant spaces in it as well.  Chocolates, vegetables, seafood, meats, sandwiches….it’s all there.

The only way to navigate Harrod’s is to develop a mission.  Decide what it is you want to shop for, find it on the map, and go.  I ended up visiting the book section and the pet section.  The store was about to close as I checked out at my last stop so it was time to head on back to the hotel and of course, make my usual stop by Sainsbury’s for dinner.

Highlight for today was the river cruise to Greenwich for the commentator, and on the way back for the sun finally making an appearance.

One thought on “London – Day Five

  1. Pingback: London – Day Six « Blogging Back to the Middle

Leave a Reply

