I’m not dead.

A friend of mine requested that I update after my last post just to knock it off the top spot.  And you know, to let everyone know I didn’t commit suicide after I wrote it.  So ah…yeah.  I’m still here.  For the sake of an update, things have gotten better with that particular situation so yay for that.

You ever have those moments – however fleeting – where you just don’t know what’s happening and you’re tired of wondering/thinking about it and whatever it is, it’s not looking good at the moment?  Well that’s what that was.  After I posted it and reread I thought, ‘Woah.’ but I left it up all the same.  It’s me, pretty or not.

So in the spirit of random updatery, this morning I got an annual evaluation at work.  When you are describing your work ‘style’ to your boss and say, ‘I’m kind of all over the place.  Like, I have ADD.’ and your boss responds with, ‘Yeah, I know,’ that’s not really a good thing, is it?

Despite that I got pretty good marks on everything.  On both Job Knowledge and Compliance with Laws, Regulations, Etc I got the highest mark possible (a ‘5’) which I was really happy about.  Those are a big deal in my job.  And, I was told I am an asset to my company.  I guess that means they’ll keep me a little longer.  Three cheers for regular paychecks and being able to pay bills!

Oh and guess what!  I’ve made friends with my Kindle again!  Strangely enough, these Kindles don’t really do well when they’re tossed around and beaten up in your purse for months without being used.  Go figure.  However, if you charge them up and actually start to use them regularly again, they work like a charm!

With the friendship rekindled (pun intended – har dee har har), I’ve read 2 1/2 books over the past week or so.  First up was Water for Elephants which was pretty decent.  I enjoyed the story but, without spoiling it all, I wish the author would’ve given a little more ‘after’ story.  A more thorough wrap-up.  I wanted to know what the characters lives were like after all that drama.  What did they do?  How did they live?  So that was disappointing, but I did enjoy what was told and if my only problem was that I was so invested in the characters that I wanted to know more, then that’s not a bad problem to have.  I’d recommend it.

Then I read An Invisible Thread – kind of The Blind Side-esque.  It was ok in that, for me, it was like Wal-mart to The Blind Side’s Target.  Cheaper, dirtier, drearier, and not as neat with less desirable customers but I guess it gets the job done.  For those who have seen The Blind Side, I wouldn’t bother.  Story’s been told.  Essentially.

And currently I’m reading the first book in the Game of Thrones series.  Not the typical genre I would reach for, but as you can tell my book choices are all over the map so I figured why not.  To be honest, I’m loving it!  I would recommend this one!

So anyway, I am still alive.  Things are good.  Work is good.  Kindle is good.  Go get Water for Elephants and/or Game of Thrones.  There ya go, Mer!

Leave a Reply

