Getting my garden on.

So here’s my new thing…and by new I mean I’ve been thinking about it for three or four seasons, talking about it for two, and now finally this season I have actually done something about it!  I should be a pro by now.

I’ve built a raised bed garden!! (To give props where props are due:  I got all my information from All New Square Foot Gardening by Mel Bartholomew.)

First step…build the frame.  Yes I did build this myself, in my living room about 3 weeks ago.

You’ll notice it has a plywood bottom.  That’s because at one point I thought I might be creative and put it on legs.  Like a garden table.  Right.

It sat outside for about a week killing a 4 x 4 square of grass.  Or weeds.  Whatever.

Scratch the garden table.  Reeeeemiiiiiiix!!!  (Meaning I decided to follow the book.)  I bought some weed cloth.

Now give it a little trim and make it all pretty.

Up next, add the soil.  I used a mix of mushroom compost, evergreen potting soil, vermiculite, and manure compost.

It was 6:30 on a cool, clear morning.  Unfortunately, even the cold weather is hot and muggy in Alabama but nevertheless, let’s get this party started! 

The light colored gravel-like stuff is the vermiculite.  I don’t know what it is either, but it was highly recommended.

Now mix it all up and smooth it out.

Pretty, pretty garden bed, all ready for my veggies!

Skip forward to this weekend and it’s finally time to plant something!

First you have to map out the square feet.

The book suggests wood lathe.  I decided to use twine.  Mainly because it’s what I had on hand.  And there’s my collection of veggies up top ready to be planted!

Alacazam!  Alacazoom! 

And look how pretty!

Meredith helped me with the planting and was quite concerned with the close proximity of the plants.  I went by the book and Mr. Bartholomew said this was acceptable.

What did I plant you ask? 

A little squash…

A little cucumber…bell pepper….tomatoes….collards….watermelon….and I am even trying my hand at some sweet onion, and cabbage from seeds. 

As you can see, it was night time by the time all the planting was complete.  So here’s a little daytime action…

On top of all that garden fun, I even fit in a little flowery pretty.

Here’s one of my new hanging baskets….

And swing around to the front of my house, you’ll find my fanciful new potted plant pretty…

I mean, I don’t want to brag or anything, but I kind of feel like the new green thumb garden zen master.  What what!!!

The next day, as if to prove me right, the little gardenia bush I have beside my back door surprised me with its first blossom of the year.

Myra22, Green Thumb Garden Zen Master at your service!

2 thoughts on “Getting my garden on.

  1. Thanks for the comment on my iPhone blog today! I’ve been trying to check out all the blogs of people who sound clever or funny in their comments and I’m a fan of your style. Have added you to my reader.

    Impressive gardening! I can barely remember to feed my kids, let alone care for something that’s not CONSTANTLY top of mind.

    Can’t wait to see how it goes in future posts.

    • Thank you so much! Hope you enjoy the blog. I look forward to reading more of your posts as well!

      The garden is going pretty well for Day 5. I’ve watered it twice so far and as this is my first ever, my unrealistic expectations were disappointed to find no goodies yet growing on the plants yesterday! Hopefully soon!

Leave a Reply

