Stupid Girl Syndrome

“So do diesel engines use the other oils gas cars do?  Like…oil?  And transmission fluid?”

Seriously.  I said those exact words yesterday.  **Palm. To. Forehead.**  I’m almost too embarrassed to write about this – admitting it to everyone.  Almost

I do not suffer from Stupid Girl Syndrome.  I do not.  The idea of dumbing myself down for a man to find me charmingly empty-headed makes me sick to my stomach.  I don’t know what happened to me yesterday!  Cute guy in my office and suddenly at least 5,623 of my brain cells play dead for a good 10 minutes.  Traitors!!!

He talks about lawn mowers and I tell him I killed three of them cutting my own grass.  And I giggle.  Like an idiot. 

He talks about gas vs. diesel engines and I say, ‘Oh!  That’s what spark plugs are for!’ 

Even as I watch my brain capacity dwindle down I am thinking to myself, ‘What?!?!  What are you saying?!?!?!  SHUT UP!  SHUT UP NOW!!!’

I couldn’t stop.  I could. not. stop myself.  Finally towards the end of the conversation I attempted to salvage what little self-respect I had left by saying, ‘I’m sounding really dumb right now.  I’m not that dumb.  I just don’t know about this stuff.’

“This stuff”.  Like it’s so far beyond my simple little mind I can’t even come up with a word for it. 

**sigh**

2 thoughts on “Stupid Girl Syndrome

  1. LoL! Yep, I’ve been in the exact same position. Sounding like a little wooden doll when a cute guy has been in my midst. Now, I can talk quite well with men I’m not attracted to, but put a cute man into the mix, and my brain turns off the lightbulb and goes to sleep.

Leave a Reply

