Writer’s Block be Damned

Writer’s block is a bitch….let’s just get that out of the way.  I’ve come up with things to blog about every day since my last post but it takes me all of about 3.4 seconds to talk myself out of typing it.  I’ve decided that today is my day to win the battle.  So take that, writer’s block! BLAM!

Anyway, I’ve spent good portions of the past week planning my trip to London.  This is my first “passport travel” and I’m sooooo excited.  However, it’s also my first real solo trip.  Yes, I am going to a foreign country all by myself.  Absolutely exhilarating but at the same time, amazingly frightening.

I’ll be honest, I probably wouldn’t be going to London right now, and never by myself if it weren’t for a boy.  I’m such a sucker for those dirty mongrels.  ha!  That boy I blogged about last post….him.  So when I said it fell through, I wasn’t playing.  It really fell through.

I was originally going back in November to see him and spend a week.  Time passes, I run him off, and I’m stuck with a non-refundable ticket to Birmingham, UK.  I ended up trying to transfer.  It didn’t work out for me to make it a domestic flight so I decided to swallow the fear and just go on to London.  Hence, I’ll be an international traveler come March.

London, London, London….  I’m really excited about going to the UK at all.  Since I can remember, I’ve always wanted to visit.  One grandmother of mine was born and raised there.  My father was born there though they moved to the States shortly thereafter.  I’m not close to those family members, but I’ve inexplicably always felt a powerful draw to England.  Strange but true.

Aside from picking the dates and purchasing my flight though, I have not set anything in stone.  That would include my hotel.  I’m so scared I’m going to pick a rotten hotel, or one that’s not conveniently located that I just keep searching and searching, writing down hotel names and then searching some more.  I do have it narrowed down to maybe 2 or 3 now though.  Hoping to finalize a reservation in the next week.

Ya know, it sucks that things fell through with that boy over in Birmingham, UK.  However, I tend to believe that things happen for a reason.  So maybe there’s some divine, fated purpose for meeting said boy, buying said ticket, that situation falling through, and then me being stuck with a solo vacation.  Maybe I’ll have some grand personal epiphany while I’m there.  Or I’ll fall in love with the country and decide to move.  Ooh, I’ll meet someone special (Oh dear heavenly father, please.).  I don’t know but regardless, I’m looking forward to the adventure.

Now if I can just decide on a place to stay….

Leave a Reply

